The Actual Feeling of Being Left Behind in the Dark

Living a life where you lose everything and not give up

Melissa Herb
2 min readFeb 25, 2022
A woman sitting in a chair by the window watching and reflecting.
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

The darkness engulfs me,
A deep, dark abyss that I cannot escape.
I am surrounded by nothingness,
A feeling of emptiness that I can’t shake.

I am lost, alone, and abandoned,
A shipwrecked soul in a sea of despair.
There is no one to help me,
No one to save me.

I have been forsaken,
Left to drift in the wind.
My life is over,
My dreams are gone.

But I still survive,
Against all odds.
I have to keep going,
Even though I’m scared.

The darkness can’t keep me down,
I will rise above it all.
I am not alone,
There is someone who cares.

Someone who loves me,
And wants me to succeed.

So, I will not give up,
I will not give in.
I will fight for my dreams,
And I will never let them die.

--

--

Melissa Herb

Exploring life's magic ✨ Body positivity, mindset, & mysticism. Weekly wisdom in your feed 🌿 Follow for a sprinkle of enchantment! 🌟